Managing attached files in the <var class="keyword">
<div style="display: inline;">
RingCentral
</div></var> app
================================================================================================================

If you or another user attaches a file to a message, there are several actions you can take to manage the file, such as:

* Downloading
* Sharing
* Renaming
* Deleting

You can also show or hide a preview of a file, or comment on a file.

Where do you want to manage your attached files?

## Desktop & web

Downloading a file
------------------

If a file was attached from a computer source and not Google Drive, you have the option to download that file onto your computer. To download a file:

* Go to **<var class="keyword">
  <div style="display: inline;">
  Chat
  </div></var>** in the navigation bar and locate the file you'd like to download.
* Hover your mouse over the file and click the **Download** down arrow button that appears at the bottom of the file.

  ![Download file from RingCentral app desktop and web](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/message/Managing-attached-files-in-the-RingCentral-app/images/rcapp-desktop-dlfile.png)

Sharing a file
--------------

If you or another user has shared a file, you can share that file to any user, group, or team. To share an attached file:

* Go to **<var class="keyword">
  <div style="display: inline;">
  Chat
  </div></var>** in the navigation bar and locate the file you'd like to share.
* Hover your mouse over the file and click the three-dot **More** icon that appears in the bottom right-hand corner of the file.
* Select *Share file* from the dropdown to open the **Share file** window.
* Search for and select the person or team you'd like to share the file with. You can also select a conversation from the **Recent conversations** list.

  ![Share a file from RingCentral app desktop and web](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/message/Managing-attached-files-in-the-RingCentral-app/images/rcapp-desktop-sharefile.gif)

Renaming a file
---------------

If you shared a file that you'd like to rename:

* Go to **<var class="keyword">
  <div style="display: inline;">
  Chat
  </div></var>** in the navigation bar and locate the file you'd like to rename.
* Hover your mouse over the file and click the three-dot **More** icon that appears in the bottom right-hand corner of the file.
* Select *Rename file* from the dropdown to open the **Rename file** window.

  ![Rename a file from RingCentral app desktop and web](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/message/Managing-attached-files-in-the-RingCentral-app/images/rcapp-desktop-rename1.png)

* Click into the **Filename** field and make any changes to the filename.

  ![Rename a file from RingCentral app desktop and web](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/message/Managing-attached-files-in-the-RingCentral-app/images/rcapp-desktop-rename2.png)

* Click **Save** to complete renaming the file.

Once you've saved your changes, you'll see the filename change to reflect the change.

Deleting attached files
-----------------------

To delete a file:

* Go to **<var class="keyword">
  <div style="display: inline;">
  Chat
  </div></var>** in the navigation bar and locate the file you'd like to delete.
* Hover your mouse over the file and click the three-dot **More** icon that appears in the bottom right-hand corner of the file.
* Select *Delete file* from the dropdown. This will prompt a confirmation message.
* Click **Delete** to complete deleting your file.

Note: If the file has been shared by other people, deleting a file will delete the file in your conversation and all conversations it has been shared with.

![Delete a file from RingCentral app desktop and web](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/message/Managing-attached-files-in-the-RingCentral-app/images/rcapp-desktop-dlete.png)

## Mobile

Saving a file
-------------

If a file was attached from a mobile device or computer source and not Google Drive, you can save that file to your mobile device. To save a file:

* Go to **Message** in the bottom menu bar.
* Select a conversation from the conversation list.
* Locate and open the file you'd like to save in the message thread.
* Tap the three-dot **More** icon at top right. (For iOS, tap the share icon)
* Select *Save* from the dropdown.

Note: This option is only available for image files.

Sharing a file
--------------

If you or another user has shared a file, you can share that file to any user, group, or team in the mobile app. To share an attached file:

* Go to **Message** in the bottom menu bar.
* Select a conversation from the conversation list.
* Locate and open the file you'd like to share in the message thread.
* Tap the three-dot **More** icon in the top right corner of the app (For iOS, tap the share icon).
* Select *Share file* from the dropdown.

If you are sharing an audio or a video file, tap and hold on the file, then tap the share button.

Deleting attached files
-----------------------

To delete a file:

* Go to **Message** in the bottom menu bar.
* Select a conversation from the conversation list.
* Locate the file you'd like to delete in the message thread.
* Tap the text in the message or any open space in the message.
* Tap the three-dot **More** icon.
* Select *Delete message and attachment* or *Delete attachment* in the pop-up menu.
* Tap **Delete** in the window. If the file has been shared by another user, you'll have the option to:
  * **Delete in this conversation**: Deletes the file in your conversation
  * **Delete in all conversations**: If the file has been shared by other people, this option deletes the file in your conversation and all conversations it has been shared with
  * **Cancel**: The file will not be deleted from your conversation and any conversations it has been shared with

Note: If you're a guest in a group or team conversation, you can't delete a file that has been shared by other users who are members of the group or team.