Joining or leaving a team in the <var class="keyword">
<div style="display: inline;">
RingCentral
</div></var> app
==================================================================================================================

You can join a team to take part in larger conversations, or leave when it's no longer needed. Public teams are open to everyone, while private ones require an invitation from an existing member.

When you leave, the group is removed from your conversation list. You can rejoin public ones anytime, but for a private team, you'll need a new invitation.

Where do you want to join or leave a team?

## Desktop & web

Joining a team in the desktop and web app
-----------------------------------------

* In the navigation bar, click **Contacts**.
* In the **Teams** tab (a), click the dropdown and select **Public teams** (b).

  Note  
  If you don't see the **Teams** tab, either click the dropdown arrow to the right of the tabs or resize the **Contacts** panel.

* Type the name of the team in the **Search teams** field or scroll through the list of public teams.

  ![Go to Contacts then Teams tab](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/Joining-a-team-in-the-RingCentral-app/topics/media/JoinTeamDW1.png)

* Once you've found the team you'd like to join, hover over the team name and click **Join**.
* Click **Join** again to confirm.

  ![Click Join](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/Joining-a-team-in-the-RingCentral-app/topics/media/JoinTeamDW2.png)

Once you've clicked **Join**, the app will take you to the team's conversation. You can view the full conversation history and a message will appear in the message thread notifying the team that you've joined.

You can find the team in your conversation list under **Message** in the navigation bar, or by searching for it in the search bar at the top of the app.

Leaving a team in the desktop and web app
-----------------------------------------

When you leave a team, that team doesn't lose the conversation history that you've contributed, even if you were the one who created it.

If you're the only admin of that team, you'll be unable to leave the team until you [assign another member as an admin](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Assigning-a-team-member-as-an-admin.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US "").

To leave a team:

* Click **Message** in the navigation bar.
* Select the team you'd like to leave from the **Team** conversation list.
* Click the three-dot **More** icon, then select **Leave team**.
* Click **Leave** to confirm.

**Additional resources**  
[Creating a new team in the RingCentral app](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Creating-a-new-team-in-the-RingCentral-app.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US "")  
[Managing your teams in the RingCentral app](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Managing-your-accounts-teams-in-the-RingCentral-app.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US "")

## Mobile

Joining a team in the mobile app
--------------------------------

* Tap **Contacts** on the bottom menu bar.
* Tap the **Teams** tab.
* Tap the **Search** icon (a) to type the name of the team you'd like to join or tap **Public teams** (b) under the **Show:** dropdown.
* Once you've found the team you'd like to join, tap the **Join** button.
* Tap **Join Team** in the popup window to confirm joining the team.

  ![Joining a team in the mobile app](https://assets.ringcentral.com/content/dam/xml-assets/doc_team/en_us/ringcentral/mvp/Joining-a-team-in-the-RingCentral-app/topics/media/mobile_1.png)

After joining the team, the app will take you to the team's conversation. There, you can view the full conversation history, and a message will appear in the message thread notifying the team that you've joined.

You can find that team in your conversation list by going to the **Teams** tab in the **Message** menu, or by searching it in the search bar at the top of the app.

Leaving a team in the mobile
----------------------------

When you leave a team, that team doesn't lose the conversation history that you've contributed, even if you were the one who created it.

If you're the only admin of that team, you'll be unable to leave the team until you [assign another member as an admin](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Assigning-a-team-member-as-an-admin.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US&pills-nav=mobile "").

To leave a team:

* Tap **Message** in the bottom toolbar.
* Tap the **Team** tab.
* Select the team you'd like to leave from the list.
* Tap the team's name in the top bar.
* Tap the **Settings** gear icon at the top right.
* Tap **Leave team** , then tap **Leave** to confirm.

**Additional resources**  
[Creating a new team in the RingCentral app](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Creating-a-new-team-in-the-RingCentral-app.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US&pills-nav=mobile "")  
[Managing your teams in the RingCentral app](https://support.ringcentral.com/article-v2/Managing-your-accounts-teams-in-the-RingCentral-app.html?brand=RingCentral&product=RingEX&language=en_US&pills-nav=mobile "")