Engage Voice | Creating a new Role

Now that we’ve looked at Main Account Roles, let’s learn how to create a standard Role, which is the type of permissions you’ll most likely be using. A standard Role differs from a Main Account Role in that it does not allow the holder to access any accounts other than the account it was created for. 

Navigating the Roles section

You can reach your Roles by navigating to Users > Roles via the left-hand navigation bar. In the Roles section, you’ll notice that the page layout will look a little different from the rest of the platform, so before we review how you can create and manage your Roles, let’s first review how you can navigate this section.
 
The Roles section is made up of two display panels. The left-hand panel contains a list of all your accounts and the Roles assigned to each account, which you can view by clicking the arrow to the left of the account name. At the top of the left-hand panel, you’ll find a search bar, which you can use to search for the Roles you’re looking for.
 
Whenever you select one of the Roles (or create a new one), a page of configuration settings for that doc will appear in the right-hand panel. At the top of the page, you’ll find two tabs: Configure and User Assignment. Under Configure, you can set up the Role’s information, such as its name and ID. You can also set permissions if you are the owner of the Role. Click on the User Assignment tab to view and assign Roles to users.
 
At bottom right, you’ll find the Cancel and Save buttons. If you open an existing Role, you’ll find the Delete and Clone buttons at bottom left.
 
Now that you understand how to navigate the Roles section, let’s go over how you can create a new Role.

Creating a Role

When configuring a standard Role, you’ll find two columns below the Configure Role section that you’ll use to grant permissions to the Role. The left-hand column is a vertical menu of account and product names titled Assigned permissions, which represents your assigned access levels for this account. The right-hand column represents the Role you are now creating, called your child doc. The title for this column comes from the name you gave your Role in the configuration page we discussed earlier.
View of an actual doc and child doc
Regardless of the level of access you start off with, you’ll most likely see one or more products listed in the left-hand column. You can choose one product at a time to drag and drop under the existing products in the right-hand column (or you can click the plus icon to the right of any product). 
 
When you drag a group from the left-hand column (Assigned permissions) to the right-hand panel (the child Role), this will grant the child Role holder the ability to access these products, groups, or group components as well. Remember — you can only grant permissions you currently possess. If you don’t have a right yourself, you can’t give it to someone else. 
 
You can easily keep track of which rights have been granted to the child doc by looking for a green checkmark to the right of a product name. (You’ll also see the words ‘in doc’ appear next to the checkmark.)
View of rights in doc
Once you’ve dragged a product into the right-hand child doc, you’ll see a number of blue configuration options listed below the product name. We’ll call this the permissions menu: this menu allows you to get more granular with the levels of access you wish to provide. You can hover over each permission for a descriptive tooltip.
 
These permission options exist at a number of levels, from the account level to the queue and the campaign level. Options in the permissions menu include the right to create, view, edit, delete, and report on information within the given category.
 
There’s one more setting you’ll need to know about when configuring a Role, and that’s the grant below setting. This option can be found in the right-hand permissions column (of the child doc). When active (blue text), it grants the active permissions beside it to all the related items below.
Rights not granted below
For example, say you wish to give a user access to create, view, and edit information at the account level. 
 
If you then click the grant below setting next to the account, you’re effectively applying the exact same permissions to all the items contained within that account (that is, all the items you can see listed in the left-hand column). That means they’ll get create, view, and edit permissions for agents, chat, cloud destinations, IVR Studio, inbound and outbound, and so on.
Rights granted below
You can grant one, some, or all permissions, and you can do this for any product you drag and drop into your child doc. Active (or granted) permissions will appear in blue text, while denied options will appear in black text with a strikethrough. In order to deny a permission, simply click on it and you’ll see it strike through and turn black. 
 
As always, don’t forget to save your changes by clicking the Save button at the bottom right!
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.