Engage Voice |  Using the Mapping tool

The main function of the Mapping tool is to act as a data filter. If you choose not to use it, the system will save all the data recorded in the script to our database, where it becomes immediately available for reporting and future use. If you do choose to use the Mapping tool, you get to decide which data gets saved and which data is unimportant and can be discarded.
 
Say you created a table in your script that contains all the states and cities in the United States, and you configured that data to display in a dropdown select menu for your agents. Now, that state and city data is necessary to have within the script so agents can use it to make a selection, but you’re not going to need that list of states and cities again after the agent makes a selection — and it’s a lot of data that takes up a good bit of space.
 
In this case, you can just use the Mapping tool to show you all the data that has been collected in the script, and you can choose what data to save and how you want to save it (that is, how it will show up in your reports).
 
In the example above, you can simply choose not to save the list of states and cities — the customer’s state and city have already been selected and saved by the system, so all you’ll be getting rid of here is the master list of state and cities itself, not the customer choices.

Overwriting mapped lead data

You can also use this tool to overwrite existing lead fields with whatever lead data you choose. For example, if you have a field somewhere in your script named ‘State’ that you wish to overwrite with the actual lead’s home state, you can choose that option here and when your script data gets saved, the lead’s recorded home state will be saved as ‘State.’

Mapping tool placement

Please note that the Mapping tool is meant to be used at the end of a script (once you’ve finished collecting all your information and executing all your processes). If placed anywhere else, you run the risk of losing important data. Also bear in mind that that this tool will not execute its function until your script passes through it, so don’t forget to connect it properly!
 
When using the Branch tool in a script, you might occasionally create a series of workflows that branch off and end on their own. If this is the case, be sure to add in a new Mapping tool at the end of each branched workflow to ensure all the data you need is captured. Otherwise, the Mapping tool will only display the data that is collected via the workflow it is appended to.
 
If you open the Mapping tool and your data doesn’t show up, it’s either because you haven’t added any data in yet, or your Mapping tool is not connected to the script in the proper place.
 
Here’s how you can choose the data you want to save via a Mapping tool:
1. Drag the Mapping tool from the toolbar onto the canvas 
2. Connect the Mapping tool between the tool preceding that and the End tool 
3. Click Edit on your Mapping tool to enter the tool configuration window
4. Name your tool using the Tool Name field at upper right
5. Choose a Default Lead Map from the dropdown menu at upper left (we’ll explain what that is in a second) 
6. Uncheck the Save? box next to any field you do not wish to save (all the boxes will be checked, which means all data will be saved by default)
Now, you can update your lead fields and configure your reporting results from that same window:
1. Choose a lead field from the Update Lead Field dropdown menu
2. Enter your desired field name into the Save To Results As field
Don’t forget to save your changes!

Mapping configuration settings

  • Default Lead Maps: This field refers to the default map used for populating the lead information options displayed in the table below; typically it contains whatever information the Lead object has available
  • Field Name: This column references the custom fields that appear earlier in your script (generated from elements and custom data)
  • Update Lead Field: Use the dropdown menu to choose a lead field that will overwrite the data stored under the existing field name. Please note that in order for this setting to function properly, you must have the Save? box checked
  • Save?: Do you want to save this field’s data for reporting purposes? Uncheck if no
  • Save To Results As: This refers to the name you wish to see for this field when you report on this data. Please note that in order for this setting to function properly, you must have the Save? box checked
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.