HomeRingCentral app > Message
Desktop & web

Managing a team's profile in the RingCentral app 
| RingCentral app

Once you create a team, you and any other member added to the team will be able to view that team’s profile. A team’s profile will contain information such as a list of team members, a list of team admin settings, and more. 

Viewing a team’s profile

There are several ways to open a team’s profile, but for the purpose of this article, we’ll discuss one of the common ways for opening a team’s profile.
 
To open and view a team’s profile, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Message via the left-hand navigation bar
2. Select a team from the conversation list
3. Click the More kabob menu located at far right in the conversation header bar
4. Select the Open team profile option from the dropdown menu 

Understanding a team’s profile

Once you open a team’s profile, you’ll see the following:
  • The name of the team
  • The description given to the team (if one was provided)
  • The following action buttons:
    • Message: Click this button to start a message with the team
    • Start video call: Click this button to start a meeting with the team
    • Start conference call: Click this button to start a conference call with the team
  • A Team members tab and a Team admin settings tab (we’ll review each of these below)
Please note: In order to start a video call or conference call, company admins must first enable phone features at the company account level. 

Understanding the Team members section

Under the Team members tab, you’ll find a search bar at the top of the section you can use to search for or add team members. At far right of the search bar is an Add team members person icon button, which you can click to add new members to your team.
 
Below the search bar is a list of all existing team members. Team admins will appear at the top of the list with an orange Admin badge beside the user’s name. 
 
When you hover over the name of a team member, a series of icons will appear at far right. Clicking any of these icons will perform an associated action. These actions will depend on the permissions of you or the other user. Let’s review what actions you can perform via the team profile.

Performing actions on a user via the team profile

Pressing any of the buttons that appear will allow you to perform some or all of the following actions:
  • Chat with a user via the Message chat bubble icon
  • Call a user via the Call phone icon
  • Start a meeting with a user via the Meet video icon
  • Open a user’s profile via the Open profile option under the More kabob menu
  • Remove a user from a team via the Remove from team option under the More kabob menu (applicable only for team admins)
  • Make someone a team admin or revoke their team admin status via the Make/revoke team admin option under the More kabob menu (applicable only for team admins)

Understanding the Team admin settings

Whether you’re a team admin or a regular team member, you will have access to the Team admin settings section in the team profile. Clicking on this tab will take you to a list of permissions that was configured upon creation of the team. 
 
If you’re not a team admin, you can use this section to see what permissions the team admins have enabled for members of the team. 
 
If you’re a team admin, you can navigate to this section and make changes to the team member permissions at any time. 

Team admin settings

Team admin settings include the following:
  • Add team members: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to invite other members to the team
  • Post messages: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to post messages in the team conversation
  • @team mention: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to @team mention in their messages. To learn more, visit Using @mentions in the RingCentral app desktop and web
  • Pin posts: If enabled, non-admin members will be able to pin posts. Pinned messages will appear under the Pinned tab in the conversation details pane at far right
If you’re an admin of the team, you’ll also find these two settings:
  • Archive a team: Select this option to archive a team. Archiving a team will remove it from your active conversations but not delete it permanently. Archived teams can always be reactivated via the Archived teams page in the Contacts menu. To learn more, visit Archiving a team in the RingCentral app
  • Delete a team: Select this option to delete the team permanently. To learn more, visit Deleting a team in the RingCentral app
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. Tous droits réservés.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.