When you schedule your meeting, you will have the option to configure specific video meeting security options to protect your meeting from those who try to join without an invite.
Accessing RingCentral Video meeting security options
To access the security options on your RingCentral app, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Settings via the left-hand navigation bar
2. Select the Video tab from the left pane
3. Click Edit at far right of Personal Meeting ID
4. Under Meetingsettings and Security, configure your preferred security options
RingCentral Video meeting security options
When configuring security options for your RingCentral Video meetings, simply check the box for each option to turn on setting.
See the list below for video meeting security options you can find for the desktop app and web browser:
Use Personal Meeting ID for instant meetings: Once enabled, you can modify your Personal Meeting ID (PMI) for others to use to join the meeting instead of the default Meeting ID when starting an instant meeting
Require password: Once enabled, you can edit your default password in the Set password field. See the list below for password policy:
The password must be at least 1 to 10 characters long
It must contain characters from the following categories: uppercase characters (A-Z), lowercase characters (a-z), digits (1-9)
Please note that participants who join the meeting by clicking the invitation link can automatically join without the meeting password. However, participants who join the meeting via the meeting ID will be asked to enter a password.
Enable waiting room: Once enabled, participants can’t join a meeting until the host admits them individually or admits all of them from the waiting room. The host can set the waiting room to one of the following: Everyone, Anyone outside my company, or Anyone not signed in.
Advanced settings: Click the arrow to expand the following advanced settings:
Only authenticated users can join: Allow only authenticated users to join your meeting. Options include Off, Signed in co-workers, and Signed in users
Turn off camera for participants: Turn off the camera for participants when they enter the meeting. Keep in mind that they can still turn their camera on at any point during the meeting
Mute audio for participants: Mute participants when they enter the meeting. Keep in mind that participants can still unmute their audio at any point during the meeting
Only host & moderators can share screen: Allow only you (the host) and moderators to share screen in a meeting