Engage Digital | Accepting an interaction

Last updated on January 23, 2022

Table of contents

Before you can reply to a customer message, you need to assign that message to yourself. Once you are alerted about an awaiting interaction in the left pane under the Ongoing folder, you can simply click on the message to accept the interaction. The interaction status will change to Ongoing case once accepted. 
 
When replying to a message where you can answer with several accounts, there is a dropdown immediately following the From field, where you can select an account to use in the reply.
  1. Navigate to Routing mode via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. In the Ongoing folder, click on the awaiting interaction to accept and open the message thread in the right panel.
  3. Enter your response in the message window at the bottom 
  4. Click Send.
Each interaction has a status indicating whether it has been processed or not. Once you accept the interaction, the message status changes from New to Assigned. This prevents other agents from working on the same message. You can check the status of a message by hovering over the message near the agent initials. 
Accepting a task
Within a message thread, you can filter messages based on the agent or identity for a message.
Managing messages in tasks view

Message options

When replying to a message, there are icons under the reply text box next to the Send button. The same pop-up and options are available to you when you Reply or Reply privately for channels such as email, Facebook, and Twitter. 
 
You can use the following options when replying to a message:
  • Emoji: Indicated by a smiley face icon, this allows you to add an emoji to your replies by selecting one from the pop-up window.
  • Attach file: Indicated by a paperclip icon, this lets you add one or more attachments by selecting files from your computer. When you’ve added more than one attachment, the phrase ‘x attached files’ is displayed along with the attachments. A Delete all link allows you to remove all the files in a single click. 

    The attachment will be private when sending it through a Facebook or Youtube channel. A private attachment means that the URL to the attachment contains a JWT token which will expire. For more details, see Sending an attachment to a customer.
  • Schedule publication: Indicated by a clock icon, click this to schedule the date and time of message publication
  • Reply assistant: Indicated by a feather pen icon, click this to enable the reply assistant, which will appear to the right of the Reply window. The reply assistant allows an agent to reply quickly to a customer with knowledge base replies and similar question replies. 
  • Request approval: Indicated by a person icon, this allows you to request approval from a supervisor before sending. The request approval icon will grey out once activated.

Viewing comments on a conversation

Agents can add comments to a conversation that are only visible to the agent. An agent can view the comments associated with a conversation by selecting a comment icon displayed in the messages. Selecting the comments icon opens the identity panel where the comments can be viewed.
Comments in conversation
© 1999-2022 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.