Engage Digital | Completing an interaction

Last updated on May 17, 2022
You can use Routing mode to keep track of agent-customer interactions that have been completed, that are in-progress, and that require further attention.
 
Completed interactions are cases that agents have solved. All completed interactions can be found in the History folder. If an interaction has unread messages, it will be automatically ignored once you complete the interaction.
 
Ensure that an interaction has been resolved before marking it complete. Depending on how your admin has configured the system, you may also be required to answer additional questions from the customer that are not related to their initial question or concern.
 
Many customer-interaction channels notify agents when customers close a conversation. When using these channels, the message ‘The conversation has been closed’ informs agents that they may want to complete the interaction in Routing mode. The message appears when agents use:
  • Engage Messaging Web (asynchronous)
  • Engage Messaging Mobile
  • Google Business Messages
  • Facebook Messenger
  • Instagram Messaging
  • WhatsApp
  • Apple Messages for Business
To complete interactions:
  1. Navigate to Routing mode via the left-hand navigation bar.
  2. Hover over a message and click the Complete checkmark icon.
  3. In the Disposition window, select a category from the Category dropdown field.
  4. Enter agent notes in the notes field (optional).
  5. If Smart Conversation Close is not enabled, click Save.
  6. If Smart Conversation Close is enabled:
    1. Check Wait for a response before smart conversation close to give the customer a chance to proactively ask additional questions. Continue the conversation if the customer has other questions or concerns.
    2. Leave Wait for a response before smart conversation close unchecked to immediately send an automated message that asks the customer if they have additional questions. Continue the conversation if the customer has other questions or concerns.
  7. If the customer has no other questions or concerns, repeat steps 2 to 4, then click Save.
Select disposition
If no disposition is needed and Smart Conversation Close is not enabled, once you click Complete, the message will close and a pop-up message with a prompt that says ‘Interaction complete’ will appear. 
 
If no disposition is needed but Smart Conversation Close is enabled, when you click Complete the system will automatically ask the customer if they have other questions or concerns. The customer can choose to answer using two buttons, Yes and No. If the customer chooses Yes within the allowed waiting period, the system will automatically ask the customer for more information about their new question or concern. You must then continue the conversation.
View of smart conversation question sample
View of smart conversation reply sample
If instead of choosing Yes or No, the customer sends a reply within the allowed period, the system assumes that the customer does have other concerns and has provided details. In this case, the system will no longer send the second automated message and you must continue the conversation.
View of a customer reply with a custom response
If the customer chooses No or does not reply within the allowed period, the system will automatically mark the interaction as completed.
View of a complete conversation
You can still reply in a conversation that you have already marked as completed. Navigate to the History folder, hover over an interaction, then click on the Resume icon (a right-facing arrow in a square). 
 
© 1999-2022 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.