Engage Digital | Viewing and transferring tasks

The Channels page gives you insight into your default channels, asynchronous and real-time. In this view, you can see the number of tasks that are awaiting, created, completed, and undelivered, and you can also see the details about each task. 

You may want to inspect a task when you see that new tasks arrive and remain in an awaiting status. You can also inspect other tasks. To do this, navigate to Supervision > Channels via the left-hand navigation bar. Click on the eye icon to reveal the task inspector modal window. You can now inspect or transfer a task.

Inspecting a task

To view task details, take the following steps:
1. Navigate to Supervision > Channels via the left navigation bar 
2. Click on the eye icon in the column of the tasks you want to check to reveal the task inspector modal window 
3. Click the Transfer button at the lower right of the message to reveal the Transfer task modal window. You may take one of these actions:

a. Transfer the task directly to another agent or a team: Select an agent or team from the Agents or Teams dropdown menu

b. Recategorize a message: Select a category from the Categories dropdown menu

c. Change the language of a message: Select a language from the Language dropdown menu

d. Add a comment to a message: Enter comment in the Comment text box

4. Click Transfer

Task detail metrics

As a supervisor, there are metrics you can view in the task inspector modal window. Let’s discuss the fields you can see when inspecting a task:
  • Customer name: Name of the customer who sent the message
  • Time of last message: The time the last message was sent. Click on it to view the thread in Inbox view
  • Topology name: Name of the topology step the message is at
  • Priority score: Hover over the score to view the score details. You can view how the final priority score was calculated by hovering over the score in the task inspector window. Depending on how the console is configured, the score may vary depending on these criteria:
    • A score added by the rule engine
    • A score added by the source
    • A score added by the boost on tasks with intervention
    • A score added by the boost on transferred tasks
    • A score added because the SLA commitment has almost been breached
  • Source icon: Hover over it to view the source name
  • Transfer button: Allows you to manually reroute the task
  • Content of customer’s last message: Complete message of the customer
  • Available agents: Possible agents that might be a good option to transfer the message to, or the agent who completed the task

Viewing awaiting tasks

The Awaiting column in the Channels view shows the number of awaiting tasks requiring an action (reply, defer, ignore, transfer) and available to agents. The red number with the clock indicates the number of tasks for which the SLA commitment is breached among the awaiting tasks.

Viewing the dispatch order of awaiting tasks

To view the dispatch order of awaiting tasks, you navigate to Supervision > Channels via the left nav bar and click the eye icon next to the count in the Awaiting column to open the task inspector modal window. Tasks are displayed in an order depending on their priority and age. They are first ordered by decreasing priority score, then in reverse chronological order. 

Tasks at the top of the list are the first to be dispatched to agents because their priority score is the highest. If several tasks have the same priority score, they will be dispatched in the order they were received. For more information on the task inspector modal window, see the Task detail metrics section above.

Viewing completed tasks

The Completed column in the Channels view shows the number of deferred or closed tasks. When needed, you can also reroute a completed task to agents, teams, or categories.

Rerouting completed tasks

To reroute a completed task, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Supervision > Channels from the left nav bar
2. Click on the eye icon in the Completed tasks column to reveal the task inspector modal window
3. Click the Transfer button at bottom right of the task
4. Choose between the transfer options
5. Click Transfer

Viewing undelivered tasks

The Undelivered column in the Channels view shows the number of undelivered tasks that you can transfer. A task can fail to deliver in these two scenarios:
  • The task expired at the last topology step. It was then added to the undelivered tasks
  • No agent with access to the push mode had the necessary skill set to process the task (category, language)

Redistributing undelivered tasks

To redistribute an undelivered task, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Supervision > Channels from the left nav bar
2. Click on the eye icon in the column of Undelivered tasks to reveal the task inspector modal window
3. Click the Transfer button at bottom right of the task
4. Choose between the transfer options
5. Click Transfer
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.