If you’d like to deactivate a team without the permanence of fully deleting it from the app, you may choose to archive that team instead. Archiving a team ensures that you can bring the team back at any time and fully retain that team’s conversation history. 
 
Please note that only the team admins can archive it. 

Archiving a team for desktop and web

To archive a team in the desktop or web app, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Message via the left-hand navigation bar
2. Hover your mouse over the team you’d like to archive and select the More kabob icon that appears at far right
3. Select Open team profile from the dropdown menu to open the team’s profile
4. Click on the Team admin settings tab
5. Select the Archive team text at the bottom of the modal window

Restoring an archived team

Once a team has been archived, it can be restored at any time via the Contacts menu option. To restore an archived team, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Contacts via the left-hand navigation bar
2. Click on the Archived teams tab via the left pane
3. Hover your mouse over the archived team you’d like to restore and click the Restore button at far right
Once the team is restored, the app will add that team back to your conversation list in Message.

Archiving a team for mobile

To archive a team in the mobile app, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to the Message section of the app
2. Select the team you wish to archive under the Teams tab
3. Open the team’s profile by tapping on its name located at the top of the message thread
4. Tap the gear icon in the top right corner
5. Scroll down to the bottom, then tap Archive team
6. Tap Archive in the modal window

Restoring an archived team

Once a team has been archived, it can be restored at any time via the Contacts menu option. To restore an archived team in the mobile app, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to the Contacts section of the app
2. Select the Teams tab
3. Tap on the filter icon in the upper right-hand side under the Teams tab to show Archived teams
4. Look for the team that you wish to restore, then tap the Restore button next to it
Once the team is restored, the app will add that team back to your conversation list in Message.