Engage Digital | Configuring channel groups

Last updated on July 7, 2022

Table of contents

As an Admin, you can add, configure, or apply channel groups as needed. You can configure the channel groups depending on how agents will process messages from both asynchronous channels (messages are processed at their own pace) and real-time channels (messages are queued and processed by the next available agent).
 
Messages from real-time channels require immediate agent attention; messages from asynchronous channels do not. We recommend configuring lower agent capacities for real-time interactions.

Updating a channel group and assigning channels

  1. Navigate to Routing > Channel groups in the left navigation bar.
  2. Hover over the desired channel group, then click the Edit pencil icon on the far right.
  3. Check the Away status by default when connecting to routing mode field (optional).
  4. Enter a Name to rename the channel group (optional).
  5. Enter the Interaction timeout for the channel group. 
  6. Enter the Default capacity and Max capacity for the channel group.
  7. In the Channels field, select the channels assigned to this group.
  8. Click Save.

Adding a channel group

  1. Navigate to Routing > Channel groups in the left navigation bar.
  2. Click Add in the top-right corner of the Channel groups page.
  3. Check the Away status by default when connecting to routing mode field (optional).
  4. Enter a Name for the channel group.
  5. Enter the Interaction timeout for the channel group. 
  6. Enter the Default capacity and Max capacity for the channel group.
  7. In the Channels field, select the channels assigned to this group.
  8. Click Save.

Channel groups configuration settings

View of Channel groups configuration settings
  • Away status by default when connecting to routing mode: Agents that connect to Routing mode through this channel group will be given Away status by default.
  • Name: The name of the channel group.
  • Interaction timeout: The length of time after which unanswered conversations in the agent’s inbox are sent back to the queue. Interaction timeout figures are displayed in HH:MM:SS format. Leave this field blank if you don’t want conversations in an agent’s inbox to expire.
  • Default capacity: The maximum number of conversations that an agent can process in Routing mode while still being able to request additional messages.
  • Max capacity: The maximum number of conversations an agent can process.
  • Channels: The channels assigned to the channel group.
© 1999-2022 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.