Instagram Messaging is a private messaging mode for the Instagram public.
There are several cases when you may receive messages sent through Instagram through the channel:
Through direct private messages. A direct private message originates in Instagram when a user swipes left on the Home screen in Instagram and then creates a new message or taps ‘Message’ on a profile page. Instagram messages allow users to send a message to multiple recipients.
When a user mentions the account associated with Engage Digital in their story.
When a user answers a story published under the account associated with Engage Digital.
When a user shares a public post privately.
Story content is available for 24 hours. Once media becomes unavailable, you’ll see an expiration message.
Engage Digital fetches the text comments to the story as well as the reactions sent to the story.
If a story is deleted within 24 hours, you’ll see a corresponding error.
Engage Digital receives an image for the first item in the carousel, whether or not the first item in the carousel is an image or a video. The image is presented as an attachment.
Message types not supported
Instagram videos are not supported through the channel.
When a message is remotely deleted by the client (deleted directly in Instagram direct), the message is not deleted in Engage Digital, but the system instead anonymizes the text.
When an agent answers a customer through the Instagram messaging channel, and the customer reads the message on Instagram, the message or set of messages is marked as read in Engage Digital with a timestamp indicating when the messages were read.