Engage Voice | Whitelist Manager

The Whitelist Manager is a component of the platform related to your outbound compliance tools. If you have not done so already, you may want to read Intro to outbound compliance tools. Keep in mind that maintaining compliance is your responsibility and the platform can only provide tools to support your outbound compliance strategy.
 
The Whitelist Manager allows you to create a list of numbers that you may want to prevent from being scrubbed. In other words, administrators can add numbers to their whitelists to identify certain numbers as safe for outbound dialing. In addition to adding numbers, you can use the Whitelist Manager to delete and view numbers in your whitelist. 
 
Whitelist Manager also allows you to associate numbers with tags. These tags, in turn, allow you to choose groups of numbers with the same tags that you don’t want to be scrubbed when you are configuring a campaign.
 
The numbers you enter in your whitelists will not be omitted from scrubbing simply because you add them to the Whitelist Manager. The configuration settings you choose when setting up a campaign will determine whether or not whitelisting is activated and specifically which numbers will not be scrubbed. 
 
Whitelist Manager simply houses all the numbers you might want to prevent from being scrubbed –– depending on the campaign. If you want to learn more about activating whitelist settings when configuring a campaign, read Configuring campaign compliance tools.

Using Whitelist Manager

You can access the Whitelist Manager by navigating to Dialing > Whitelists.
 
The Whitelist Manager allows you to add numbers manually one at a time or upload a list of numbers all at once. You can do this in the Outbound Whitelist Manager section at the top of the page. 
 
Whether you add a number individually or upload a list of numbers, you’ll also have the option of setting an expiration date –– that is, if you only want the number(s) to remain active in your whitelist temporarily.
 
Keep in mind that if you upload a list of numbers and select a tag, the tag will apply to all numbers in that list. If you want numbers to have different tags, you will need to upload them individually or in different lists.
 
If you do not choose a tag when entering a number or list of numbers, the default tag will be Global. This tag is simply a way of identifying all numbers in your whitelist that are not associated with other tags. Keep in mind that you can only add one tag per number or per number list.
 
Tags also provide a useful way of deleting a number or group of numbers. If you use the Whitelist Manager to delete numbers, you will be required to use a tag and all numbers with the tag you choose will be deleted. However, you cannot use this setting to delete numbers with the Global tag.
 
Below the section where you add or delete numbers, you will see the Outbound Whitelist Entries section. This section allows you to view and filter all the numbers in your whitelist and provides various columns of information about each number. 
 
You can also use the table in the Outbound Whitelist Entries section to delete numbers individually. If you want to delete numbers with the Global tag, this is your only option.
 
When you’re ready to add or delete numbers, follow these steps:
1. Navigate to Dialing > Whitelists
2. Select an option from the Action field dropdown menu
3. Depending on which action you chose, complete the remaining fields as desired (see below for more info)
4. Click the Add to Whitelist button or Delete Records button to complete the action and ensure your changes are saved

Outbound Whitelist Manager properties

When you add or delete numbers in the Whitelist Manager, you will encounter the fields below. Keep in mind the fields will vary depending on which action you are performing.
  • Action: Determines what type of change you are making to your whitelists
    • Manual Input: Allows you to enter numbers one at a time
    • Upload Whitelist File: Allows you to add multiple numbers by uploading a file 
    • Delete by tag: Allows you to delete numbers based on the tag they are assigned
  • Phone (Manual Input only): Where you manually enter a number you are adding to a whitelist 
  • Upload Whitelist File (Upload Whitelist File only): Allows you to select a list of numbers to upload
  • Expires (Manual Input and Upload Whitelist File only): A date that determines when the number or list of numbers you are adding will no longer be considered safe for dialing 
  • Notes (Manual Input and Upload Whitelist File only): Allows you to add any descriptive information you want to associate with the number(s) you are adding
  • Tag: Determines which tag is associated with the action you are performing. 

    When you are adding numbers to the Whitelist Manager — that is, when you have chosen Manual Input or Upload Whitelist File — this field allows you to associate tags with the number(s) you are adding. Clicking on the field reveals a dropdown menu listing all available tags. You can use the pencil icon to the right of the field to create new tags.

    Please note: If you are adding numbers and do not choose a tag, the default tag will be Global

    When you are deleting numbers from the Whitelist Manager — that is, when you have chosen Delete by Tag in the Action field — this field allows you to choose which number(s) you want to delete based on an associated tag. Keep in mind that the Whitelist Manager will delete all numbers with the tag you choose.

Outbound Whitelist Entries columns

The Outbound Whitelist Entries section contains a table that allows you to view, filter, and even delete numbers you’ve added to the Whitelist Manager. 
 
When you navigate to the Whitelist Manager, the table in this section automatically lists all the numbers that are already in your whitelists. Each column in the table provides information about each number. If you only want to see certain numbers based on specific criteria, then you can use the filtering options at the top of some of the columns. You can also use this table to delete numbers individually.
 
See below for a description of each of the columns in the Outbound Whitelist Entries section.
  • Phone: The phone numbers themselves. You can use the field at the top of this column to filter your list
  • Expires: A date that indicates when a number will no longer be considered safe for dialing. In other words, this is the date after which the number will no longer be omitted from scrubbing. You can use the fields at the top of this column to filter based on a range of expiration dates
  • Added by: The person who added a number to the Whitelist Manager
  • Added on: A date indicating when a number was added to the Whitelist Manager. You can use the fields at the top of this column to filter based on a range of dates
  • Notes: Information that was recorded when a number was first added to the Whitelist Manager
  • Tag: The tag assigned to a number. You can use the dropdown menu at the top of the column to filter your list based on available tags
  • Delete: Allows you to delete numbers individually by clicking the blue ‘x’ 
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. All rights reserved.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.