Engage Digital | Managing customer identities

An identity is associated with a customer’s account on a digital channel. A customer’s identity is linked to their customer information, and one customer may have multiple accounts on various digital channels. The system automatically matches customer identity from various digital channels based on their name and email address.
 
If the customer uses different names or email addresses in other channels, the system may not automatically match these identities. However, we can manually link those identities by merging them.  
 
You can access a customer’s account on various channels — from Facebook to Twitter or other social media channels — via the Customer information modal window under the Identities tab. 

Viewing customer identities

1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left-hand navigation bar.
2. Open the customer’s profile in one of two ways:

a. In Inbox, select a message from the left and then click on the customer’s name or avatar in the message thread panel to open the Customer information window.

b. In Routing mode, select a message from the left pane to open the Customer information panel in the panel at far right.

3. Click the Identities tab (two-person icon) at the top of the window or pane.

Merging customer identities

The system allows you to merge matching identities. If you find out that a customer has an account with other digital channels, you can manually merge their identities into one customer identity. You can merge multiple identities into one set of customer information.
1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click the Identities tab (two-person icon).
5. Insert the customer’s name or email address in the Find matching identities field.
6. Select the Search button.
7. Click Merge on the selected account.
After merging the customer identity, you can navigate to the Profile tab (person icon) in the Customer information window. You’ll see that the customer information from another digital channel is now visible under the customer’s profile.

Unmerge matching identities

1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click the Profile (person icon) tab.
5. Hover over the selected customer account and click Unmerge.
6. Click Ok in the unmerge confirmation window.

Anonymizing an Identity

Anonymizing an identity lets you anonymize all the customer information and messages in the system. For example, if a customer contacts you and requests to have their information taken off the system, you can choose to anonymize the customer’s identity. After anonymizing the identity, the customer’s name will appear as Anonymous, and their messages will no longer be visible in the system. 
 
Anonymizing an Identity
1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click on the More icon at far right.
5. Select Anonymize from the dropdown menu.
6. Click Yes, I understand, please anonymize in the confirmation window.

Exporting an Identity

You can export a customer’s identity and have the customer information emailed to you.
1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click on the More icon at far right.
5. Select Export from the dropdown menu.

Locking identities

Locking a customer identity’s data will disable an agent’s ability to edit, anonymize, and export identities manually. 
1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click on the More icon at far right.
5. Select Lock from the dropdown menu.

Unlocking identities

Unlocking a customer identity’s data will allow agents to edit, anonymize and export identities manually. 
1. Navigate to the Inbox or Routing mode via the left nav bar.
2. Select a message from the left pane.
3. Open the Customer information window.
4. Click on the More icon at far right.
5. Select Unlock from the dropdown menu.
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.