Engage Digital | Configuring channel groups

As mentioned in the Intro, you can add, configure, or apply channel groups as needed. What matters is that you configure them distinctly if your agents are going to process messages from both asynchronous and real-time channels. Messages from real-time channels are more urgent and require immediate attention from an agent compared to messages from asynchronous channels. It’s therefore advisable to configure lower agent capacities for real-time interactions. You may also have other preferred channel groups, such as private messages and public messages, and therefore different ideal agent capacities for those groups.

Updating a channel group and assigning channels

1. Navigate to Routing > Channel groups in the left-hand navigation bar.
2. Hover over the channel group then click the Edit pencil icon that appears at the far right.
3. Check the Away status by default when connecting to routing mode field. (optional)
4. Enter a Name to rename the channel group. (optional)
5. Enter the Interaction timeout for the channel group. Leave this field blank to disable timeout.
6. Enter the Default capacity and Max capacity for the channel group.
7. In the Channels field, select the channels that will be assigned to this group.
8. Click Save.

Adding a channel group

1. Navigate to Routing > Channel groups in the left-hand navigation bar.
2. Click Add on the top-right corner of the Channel groups page.
3. Check the Away status by default when connecting to routing mode field. (optional)
4. Enter a Name for the channel group.
5. Enter the Interaction timeout for the channel group. Leave this field blank to disable timeout.
6. Enter the Default capacity and Max capacity for the channel group.
7. In the Channels field, select the channels that will be assigned to this group.
8. Click Save.

Channel groups configuration settings

  • Away status by default when connecting to routing mode: Agents that connect to Routing mode through this channel group will be set to Away status by default.
  • Name: The name of the channel group.
  • Interaction timeout: The time after which the conversations left in the agent’s inbox are sent back to the queue if the agent is disconnected or absent. It is defined as an integer followed immediately by one of the following letters: h for hours, m for minutes, or s for seconds. For example, 1h means 1 hour, 2m means 2 minutes, and 30s means 30 seconds. If you don’t want conversations to expire in the agent’s inbox, leave this field blank.
  • Default capacity: The maximum number of conversations that an agent can process simultaneously in Routing mode while still being able to request additional messages.
  • Max capacity: The maximum number of conversations that an agent can process simultaneously, at which point they will no longer receive or be able to request additional messages.
  • Channels: The channels assigned to the channel group.
© 1999-2021 RingCentral, Inc. Tutti i diritti riservati.
Close X
Thanks!
We've sent you a link, please check your phone!
Please allow a full minute between phone number submissions.
There was an issue with SMS sending. Please try again. If the issue persists, please contact support.